Raw Energy Balls

image

Every time I shop in the organic grocery store I look at the raw foods which look yummy but carry a large price tag. I decided I can try to make these at home. A friend of mine lent me a book to check out and while searching through the recipes I found a very similar recipe that I altered to suit what I had on hand. The book is called The Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook, 2nd Edition.

image

Ingredients

  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4  teaspoon cardamom
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

Directions

  1. In a powerful blender like a Vitamix or a food processor grind the cardamom first if  using whole seeds. Set aside.
  2. Then grind almonds until fine.
  3. Add dates, raisins, and spices.
  4. Then add peanut butter. Mix until combined.
  5. Roll out into a long log and evenly cut.
  6. Roll into balls. (Could use coconut oil if dry and roll in shredded coconut)
  7. Enjoy fresh or store in refrigerator.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

