Play Table Makeover

A friend of mine was getting rid of a children’s play table and I decided it would be perfect for my son, Benjamin. The table was originally purchased from IKEA. It is call LATT and is available for $19.99 with a table and two chairs included.

table makover

When I received the table it was well loved, see picture below.

Image

I had paint, ink, stickers, all the usual. I decided to do a transformation. I honestly thought about just cleaning it up at first. So I started by cleaning it and removing stickers. I used a razor blade and the stickers came up easily. Then I tried to scrub with just soap and water, but it wasn’t enough. I used eco bleach which has peroxide to clean and that did the trick. So there I was with a clean table and chairs.

IMG_3173

Now what to do? I finally decided on Mod Podge. I was able to pick up a bottle at a local craft store and while there I found some scrap book paper that was on clearance. I cut the paper up and arrange it on both the table and chairs.

IMG_3177

IMG_3176

Next I took a paint brush and basiclly painted the paper to the table and chairs with the Mod Podge. I applied about 4 coats with allowing at least an hour in-between to dry. Below is a final picture of my table make over. I just love that we were able to make it over own. My son uses his table all the time and brings his toys over and has his own work space.

Image

Leave a Reply

